National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

Board Members

Professor Christopher Fox

Christopher is a composer with a life-long fascination for music from all eras and cultures. He also writes about music and teaches at Brunel University where he is Professor of Music

Menna McGregor

Menna was Clerk to the Mercers' Company from 2008 to 2015, having previously spent 13 years working at the National Theatre. Menna currently holds a number of trusteeships including The Royal Ballet School, the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, Wilton's Music Hall and the Shakespeare Schools Foundation. Previous trusteeships include 12 years at the National Foundation for Youth Music.

Paul Murphy

Paul has worked in central and local government, and public and private sectors. Recent roles in York have focused on education, including NYBEP Ltd, City of York Council, and York St John University. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of the Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Mental Health Trust."

Nick Nightingale

Nick is now retired from full time work. He was variously a solicitor in private practice, a senior executive at Rowntree Mackintosh plc in York, at Tate & Lyle plc in London and finally at the World Alliance of YMCAs in Geneva.

Martin Stancliffe

Martin is an architect specializing in the conservation of historic buildings. From 1990 to 2011 he was Surveyor to the Fabric of St. Paul's Cathedral in London, and is now Surveyor Emeritus. He is chairman of the York Consortium for Conservation and Craftsmanship, a member of the Fabric Advisory Committee of York Minster, and a trustee of York Civic Trust and of the Landmark Trust. He is also a keen baroque oboist. (December 2017)

Mike Taylor

Mike has been a Trustee since 1998 and became chairman in 2007. Mike's background was in finance, having been the group finance director of chemicals group, Hickson International plc, and then of the Northumbrian Water Group plc.