National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

The Sixteen: Bach Magnificat

The Sixteen
The Sixteen: Bach Magnificat 
Harry Christophers Conductor

In February 2017 The Sixteen take Bach's towering masterpiece on tour to seven venues around the UK. Written in Leipzig for the 1723 Christmas Vespers, its splendour and jubilation anticipates the great choruses of his later Mass in B minor. Performed alongside this will be a selection of Bach's Cantatas and his ever-popular Brandenburg Concerto No 3.

Concert Programme:

Brandenburg Concerto No 3 
Motet Singet dem Herrn
Cantata BWV 191  Gloria in excelsis Deo
Sinfonia from Cantata BWV 156  
Jesus bleibet meine Freude (Jesu joy of man's desiring) from Cantata BWV 147 
Sinfonia from part 2 of Cantata BWV 75   
Magnificat in D


Friday 24th February - Worcester   Limited tickets available on the door
Saturday 25th February - Rochester   Limited tickets available on the door & Transept and aisle seats available online as print at home tickets