National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

NCEM Composers Award 2010 with The Tallis Scholars

NCEM Composers Award 2010 - winner Owain Park at Chester Cathedral

NCEM Composers Award 2010 - winner Alexander Campkin at Chester Cathedral

L to R - Alexander Campkin, Peter Philips, Director of The Tallis Scholars and Owain Park

L to R - Owain Park and Alexander Campkin

Finalists of the 2010 NCEM Composers Award and the judges

Finalists of the 2010 NCEM Composers Award, the judges and The Ebor Singers

BBC Radio 3Tallis ScholarsChester Festival

The winners of the NCEM Composers Award 2010 were Owain Park, aged 16 from Bristol in the 18 years and under category and Alexander Campkin, aged 25 from London in the 19 - 25 category.

Those who entered the Award were asked to compose a new a cappella (unaccompanied) piece for Soprano, Alto, Tenor and Bass which utilised the majestic ambiance of Chester Cathedral and the remarkable singing skills of The Tallis Scholars.

The winning pieces were performed by The Tallis Scholars during their concert in Chester Cathedral as part of the Chester Summer Music Festival on Wednesday 30 June 2010. BBC Radio 3 recorded this concert for  broadcast on Sunday 11 July as part of the York Early Music Festival.


Sweet Day-Owain Park

O Magnum Mysterium- Alexander Campkin


Bleared Smeared Shod-Emma-Ruth Richards

Gloria a 5 - Mark Gotham

A Hymn to St Werburgh - Peter Foggitt

Thy Footsteps Are Not Known - Sarah Gait

The Light Of The Stars - Tom Harrold

follow us on facebook

Stop Press...... Alexander Campkin, winner of the 2010 NCEM Composers Award, was shortlisted for the 2011 British Composer Awards.