National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

NCEM Composers Award 2008 with The Tallis Scholars

Finalists of the Composers Award 2008

Keryn Tatman, winner of the 2008 Composers Award

Keryn Tatman, aged 17, from Beverley Grammar School, has won the Beverley & East Riding Early Music Festival's Young Composers' Competition (now known as the NCEM Composers Award.)

He was one of six Yorkshire finalists and his piece - Stabat Mater - was performed by The Tallis Scholars at their concert on Friday 23 May, 7.30pm at Beverley Minster as part of the Beverley & East Riding Early Music Festival.

The other finalists were: Ben Horrigan from St Mary's College, Hull; Tom Armitage from Wolfreton School, East Riding of Yorkshire; Kirk Ella and Natalie Clarke from Fulford School, York; James Woodrow from St Peter's School, York and Ruth Eaves, Huntington School, York.

All finalists took part in an engaging workshop day at the National Centre for Early Music in York and had the opportunity to work with the Ebor Singers, the American composer Aaron Cassidy from the University of Huddersfield and students from the University of York.