National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

NCEM Composers Award 2009 with The Tallis Scholars

Winners of the Composers Award 2009 Michael Perrett and Elizabeth Edwards with Peter Phillips, Director of The Tallis Scholars

Finalists of the Composers Award 2009
This prestigious award was won in 2009 by 16-year-old Elizabeth Edwards and 21-year-old Michael Perrett and their winning pieces, written for four-part a cappella choir was premiered by the internationally renowned Tallis Scholars at the opening concert of the York Early Music Festival in York Minster. Highlights of the concert were also broadcast on BBC Radio 3's Early Music Show in July 2009.

The competition saw over 50 entrants from up and down the country, with the youngest aged 11 years old. There were six finalists in two age groups (under 18 and 19 to 25 years old) and their pieces were performed by York's Ebor Singers at a special finalists' concert at the NCEM. All finalists' pieces can be heard here.