National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

NCEM Composers Award 2011 with Fretwork

Chris Roberts - Winner in the 19 to 25 category

Sarah Gait and Bertie Baigent - Joint winners in the 18 and under category

2011 NCEM Instrumental Composers Award Finalists

For the 2011 award, the NCEM and BBC Radio 3 teamed up for the first time with one of the foremost viol consorts in the world, Fretwork. Applicants were asked to write a new work of up to four minutes' duration, which utilised the remarkable playing skills of the six-strong early music ensemble.
The winners were Bertie Baigent and Sarah Gait in the 18 and under category and Chris Roberts in the 19 to 25 age category.
The winning pieces were premiered by Fretwork at a public concert in Kings Place, London on Wednesday 21 December 2011 and broadcast by BBC Radio 3 on 15 January 2012 during The Early Music Show .

Bertie Baigent In Memoriam In Nomine

Sarah Gait Death Fires

Chris Roberts my o'erflowing teares

The recordings above were made by BBC Radio 3 at KIngs Place - London.

Timothy Cooper ...shadows that in darkness dwell

Michael Cutting Rippled Surface

John Evamy Votive

Robert Peate De Profundis

The Finalists recordings were made by music technology students from the Department of Electronics at the University of York at the Award Day performance by Fretwork on 25 October 2011 in All Saints Church, North Street, York