National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu
The National Centre for Early Music
Barluath
‘The instrumental sets create a big, full sound … very reminiscent of the Battlefield Band’ fRoots
NCEM Friday 26 February | 7.30pm
Otava Yo
If you liked the Yiddish Twist Orchestra you’ll love this!
NCEM Saturday 5 March | 7.30pm
Antonio Forcione
Forcione is mesmerizing... passion, grace and fire’ The Times‘
NCEM Friday 11 March | 7.30pm
Fay Hield and The Hurricane Party
‘Powerful material … Fay and the Hurricane Party rise to its challenges and serve it well’ Songlines
NCEM Wednesday 16 March | 7.30pm
Christophe Coin & Richard Boothby
NCEM Monday 21 March | 7:30pm
Austen’s Women
‘Truly extraordinary… one of the most exciting young performers on the British stage’ British Theatre Guide
NCEM Tuesday 22 March and Wednesday 23 March | 7.30pm – 8.45pm
Malija
‘A soulful bucolic ramble that shifted harmonic centre, texture and mood’ Financial Times
NCEM Sunday 3 April | 7.30pm
Martin Taylor and Martin Simpson
Award winning guitarists
NCEM, York Tuesday 5 April (2016) 7:30pm
The Young’uns – The Three for All
‘Glorious harmonies, waspish wit, powerful songs and relentless banter … irresistible’ The Guardian
NCEM Friday 15 April | 7.30pm
Hildur Guðnadóttir
NCEM Sunday 17 April | 7.30pm
John McCusker
25th Anniversary Tour
NCEM, York Tuesday 3 May (2016) 7:30pm
Melrose Quartet
‘A rich, dynamic and inspired team of considerable potential’ fRoots Magazine
NCEM Monday 16 May | 7.30pm
Beverley 2016
Florilegium
Friday 27 May 7.30pm
St Mary’s Church, North Bar Within, Beverley
Elin Manahan Thomas & Elizabeth Kenny
Saturday 28 May 1.00pm – c.2.15pm
Toll Gavel United Church, Toll Gavel, Beverley
The Cardinall's Musick
Saturday May 28 7.30pm
Beverley Minster, Highgate, Beverley
Fitzwilliam String Quartet
Sunday 29 May 7.30pm
St James’ Church, Warter, Beverley
Composers Award 2016
Vula Viel
‘Joyous, celebratory and explosive ... New and vital’ Songlines
NCEM Sunday 5 June | 7.30pm
Amores Pasados
New repertoires for voices and lutes
NCEM Thursday 9 June | 7.30pm
Quercus
‘…clarity, stillness and deep but fragile sound. [Tabor’s voice] is a unique tribute to the power of song’ The Guardian
NCEM Friday 17 June | 7.30pm
Ian Shaw and Liane Carroll
NCEM Sunday 19 June | 4.00pm – 6.00pm | Afternoon Jazz
John Etheridge and Vimala Rowe
‘John Etheridge demonstrates awesome authority every time he touches the guitar’ The Guardian
NCEM Friday 1 July | 7.30pm
FREE on this website
Baroque String Playing Resource
celebrations

Welcome


The National Centre for Early Music is based in a medieval church in York. Home of the internationally acclaimed York Early Music Festival, the NCEM promotes a year-round series of jazz, world, folk and early music concerts as well as a thriving education programme.

Home

Welcome


The National Centre for Early Music is based in a medieval church in York. Home of the internationally acclaimed York Early Music Festival, the NCEM promotes a year-round series of jazz, world, folk and early music concerts as well as a thriving education programme.

Book Here