The Leipzig Legacy

Sunday 13 December 1.00pm
£10.00 (£50 festival Pass)

Available to buy until 21 December and watch on demand until 6 January 2021.
Please note if you purchased tickets after the start of the concert you will be granted access the next working day.

Directed by Kinga Ujszászi

Russell Gilmour, William Russell, Sam Kinrade trumpets
Keith Price timpani
Joel Raymond, Oonagh Lee oboes
Kinga Ujszászi, Claudia Norz, George Clifford, Tuomo Suni, Karin Björk violins
Joanne Miller, Stefanie Heichelheim violas
Kinga Gaborjáni cello
Kate Brooke double bass
Inga Klaucke bassoon
Nicolàs Mendoza harpsichord

JF Fasch: Concerto in D major for 3 trumpets, timpani, 2 oboes, violin and strings (FaWV L:D3)
JS Bach: Orchestral Suite no. 2 (BWV1067)
JS Bach: Sinfonia (BWV 1045)
JF Fasch: Quartetto (FaWV N:d3)
JS Bach: Orchestral Suite no. 3 (BWV1068)

Joyous, daring and virtuosic music from two of the late Baroque’s most innovative composers. In this feast of vivacious solos and orchestral suites, Spiritato brings together an entire orchestra of dynamic soloists. Opening with a dazzling concerto for multiple soloists by Bach’s lesser-known contemporary Johann Friedrich Fasch, director/violinist Kinga Ujszászi next takes the lead for two of Johann Sebastian’s most fiendish solo works. Fasch’s elegant Quartetto provides a moment of delightful contrast before the trumpets and drums return in one of the most popular of all Baroque works, bringing this thrilling programme to a glorious conclusion.

High-quality entertainment’ BBC Radio 3
The band’s handsome, bottom-heavy sound… [was] lead vivaciously by violinist Kinga Ujszászi’ The Times
‘one of the most exciting arrivals on the UK early music scene’ Early Music Review

This concert is generously supported by The Music Reprieval Trust

Event Date: 21/12/2020 4:00 pm

read more

The NCEM is available to hire for anniversaries, birthday parties, wedding receptions, conferences, dinners and musical events.