National Centre for Early Music

[Skip navigation]
Navigation Menu

John Marvin Achievement Award

Ruby Jones with The Rt Hon The Lord Mayor of York, the Lady Mayoress and Trevor Pinnock (2018)

Rosella Pinckney with Sheriff of York, Gill Brian (2017)

Molly Killeen & Alizée Currell with Lord Mayor of York, Dave Taylor (2016)

Josie Osborne with NCEM Director Delma Tomlin (2015)

Alex Hill with NCEM Director Delma Tomlin (2013)

Laura Soper with John Marvin (2010)

Jo Wherry with Delma Tomlin and Ailsa Reid (2009)

The John Marvin Achievement Award is presented annually after the Minster Minstrels' concert in the York Early Music Festival.  It is awarded to the player who has displayed the highest level of commitment, promise and achievement over the year. John Marvin was chairman of York Early Music Festival from 1992 to 2007.
Winners of the John Marvin Achievement Award (pictured right):

2018     Ruby Jones (recorder)
2017     Rosella Pinckney (recorder)
2016     Molly Killeen (clarinet) and Alizeé Currell (flute)
2015     Josie Osborne (oboe)
2014     Elizabeth Cantrell (recorder)
2013     Alexander Hill (french horn)
2012     Anna Hughes (violin/oboe)
2011     Alex Wherry (recorder)
2010     Laura Soper (recorder)
2009     Joanna Wherry (violin)